Bureaus & Divisions

The Office of the Commissioner includes the following units:

  • Internal Affairs
  • Community Relations
  • Family Services
  • Victim Services
  • Media Relations
  • Planning, Research and Re-Entry
  • Information Technology

The Bureau of Administrative Services provides support services across the entire Department, and is comprised of the following units:

  • Central Business Office
  • Central Offender Records
  • Human Resources
  • Recruitment

The Bureau of Healthcare, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services provides management and oversight of medical care, substance abuse and mental health treatment to the offender population. It is comprised of the following units:

  • Medical Administration
  • Behavioral Health Administration
  • Pharmaceutical Administration

The Bureau of Prisons operates four secure facilities housing offenders incarcerated by court order, and the following units:

  • Baylor Women's Correctional Institution
  • Howard R. Young Correctional Institution
  • James T. Vaughn Correctional Center
  • Sussex Correctional Institution
  • Transportation
  • Delaware Correctional Industries
  • Education
  • Facilities Maintenance
  • Food Services
  • Steven R. Floyd, Sr. Training Academy and Special Operations

The Bureau of Community Corrections supervises offenders after release from incarceration or upon direct court sentence, in work release facilities, a women’s treatment center and:

  • Probation and Parole
  • House Arrest
  • New Castle County Community Corrections (Plummer Community Corrections Center and Hazel D. Plant Women's Treatment Facility)
  • Sussex Community Corrections Center(Sussex Work Release and Sussex Violation of Probation Center)
  • Kent County Community Corrections (Morris Community Corrections Center (Closed) and Community Corrections Treatment Center)